Skip to main content
Scale your content with AI and keep your brand, now from Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor. DesignerBox in your AI chat Start DesignerBox MCP

Unlimited Graphic Design Service: The Real Queue Math

An unlimited graphic design service works on one or two requests at a time. How many items that delivers in a month, and the 3 questions that decide the fit.

Unlimited Graphic Design Service: The Real Queue Math

An unlimited graphic design service sells unlimited requests, not unlimited output. Every plan caps how many requests are worked on at once, usually one or two. With a one-day turnaround and one active slot, “unlimited” resolves to about 21 finished items a month. The market runs from one self-serve slot to a managed team, about 150 times apart. Read each price on the vendor’s own page.

You hired one to stop the freelancer churn. Then the 40-item drop went in, and it came back one item at a time, over eight weeks. Nothing was broken. The queue worked exactly as written.

This guide covers what each service publishes. It shows the arithmetic that turns a monthly fee into a cost per asset. It ends with the three questions that decide whether a subscription fits the shape of your work. No vendor price appears here. Every figure in this market changes without notice, so each section names the page to read on the day you buy.

Key Takeaways

  • “Unlimited requests” is a submission limit, not a delivery limit. The number that governs your throughput is the active-request cap, and it is one or two on almost every entry plan. Read that line before the price.
  • The self-serve market has a gap in the middle. Awesomic’s AI Designer plan is the cheapest published entry, and it is for one active task (awesomic.com/pricing, September 2026). The next real tier up is ManyPixels Advanced. Almost nothing sits between them.
  • Turnaround times multiply, they do not add. One active slot at next-day delivery is about 21 working days of output a month. A 40-item catalog drop is two months, not two weeks.
  • The managed end of this market has a floor, not a price. Superside publishes a minimum monthly spend on a 12-month commitment, plus a separate monthly software fee, and quotes the rest (superside.com/pricing, September 2026).
  • Review-site prices go stale. In September 2026, several third-party roundups listed a figure for Penji’s entry plan that Penji’s own page did not show. Check the vendor’s page, on the day.
  • Annual billing is the standard discount, at 15 to 20 percent. It also converts a cancel-anytime service into a contract, which is the trade.
  • Subscriptions price time, so they are strongest on unpredictable, low-volume work. Repeatable high-volume production is where the queue becomes the constraint.

What an unlimited graphic design service gives you, plan by plan

Price is the column everyone reads first and the one that tells you least. The column that sets your delivery date is the next one along. Below is what each graphic design subscription publishes about throughput, read from its own pricing page on 6 September 2026. No price is printed here: read each one on the vendor’s page, because these change without notice.

Service and planPrice on the pageActive at onceStated turnaround
Awesomic, AI DesignerPublished, the cheapest entry here1 taskNot stated
ManyPixels, AdvancedPublished, monthly and yearly1 daily outputNext-day
Penji, EssentialsPublished2 workstreams1 day
Flocksy, 2 Daily HoursPublished, monthly and annualParallel, no cap publishedSame-day
Awesomic, Graphic PackPublished, monthly and quarterly1 taskNot stated
Penji, Agency PartnerPublished3 workstreamsPriority
Awesomic, All-in-OnePublished, monthly and quarterly1 taskNot stated
Penji, Dedicated TeamPublished as a starting figure3 to 4 workstreamsSame-day
Superside, FlexQuoted, with a published minimum spendNot publishedNot published
Superside, Dedicated teamPublished as a starting figure, 12-month termNot publishedNot published
Design PickleNot published, quoted on a callNot published1 to 2 business days

Sources, all accessed September 2026: awesomic.com/pricing, manypixels.co/pricing, penji.co/pricing, flocksy.com/pricing, superside.com/pricing, designpickle.com/pricing.

Two things stand out. The cheapest published managed team costs roughly 150 times the cheapest published entry plan. And the middle of that range is almost empty, so most teams choose between one slot and a full team.

Why does “unlimited” not mean unlimited?

The word “unlimited” describes what you may submit. It does not describe what you receive. You can file as many briefs as you like. The service works on one or two of them at a time and the rest wait.

A woman with curly hair in a yellow top sits in front of a pink wall hung with colorful artwork, one designer working one brief at a time

That is not a hidden term. ManyPixels publishes “1 daily output” on its Advanced plan and “2” on Business (manypixels.co/pricing, September 2026). Penji publishes “2 active workstreams” on Essentials and “3” on Agency Partner (penji.co/pricing, September 2026). Awesomic publishes one active task on every self-serve tier (awesomic.com/pricing, September 2026). The number is right there on the page, next to the word unlimited.

The mistake is reading the two words as the same promise. They are two different fields, and only one of them sets your delivery date.

What is the real cost per asset?

The real cost per asset is the monthly fee divided by the number of items the queue can deliver. Take the active-request cap, multiply by the working days in a month, and divide the fee by the result. That is your ceiling, and it assumes you keep the queue full every day.

One daily output, next-day delivery. About 21 working days gives about 21 items. Divide the monthly fee on the vendor’s page by 21 and you have the ceiling for that plan.

Two workstreams, one-day turnaround. About 42 items a month, so the same fee divides twice as far. Two workstreams at a higher fee often beat one slot at a lower one.

One active task with no published turnaround. Treat it as one item a day until the vendor states otherwise, and ask before you buy.

The next number is utilization. File 12 briefs in a month instead of 21 and your real cost per item rises by about 75 percent, on the same fee. The subscription bills the slot, not the output. An empty slot is the most expensive thing in this model.

Marketing lead reviewing a design request queue, where the active-request cap sets the delivery date

How long does a 40-item drop take?

A 40-item drop takes about eight working weeks on one active slot with next-day delivery. Count in slots, not in items.

At one active slot and next-day turnaround, 40 items is 40 working days. That is eight working weeks, or close to two calendar months. At two workstreams it halves to 20 working days, about four weeks. At three, it is roughly 14 working days.

This is the calculation that decides whether the model fits. A brand with one product launch a quarter and a steady trickle of one-off graphics is well served: the work arrives at the rate the queue delivers. A brand shipping a 40-SKU drop every month is not, because the queue and the calendar are pulling in opposite directions and the queue always wins.

Ask the question before you buy: what is the largest batch we will ever need in one week, and how many slots does that need?

Where do the prices on review sites come from?

Prices on review sites do not always come from the vendor. On 6 September 2026, several third-party roundups listed a figure for Penji’s entry plan that penji.co/pricing did not show.

This matters beyond one number. Design subscription pricing changes without announcement, tiers get renamed, and an old figure survives in search results for a long time. Two rules keep you out of trouble. Read the vendor’s own pricing page on the day you build the comparison. And check whether the price you are reading is the monthly rate or the discounted annual rate. A yearly discount of 20 percent, shown as the headline number, understates the monthly cost by a fifth.

What are the alternatives, and when does each win?

A freelancer buys hours at a rate you set. US graphic designers earn a median of $30.27 an hour employed, with the top 10 percent above $104,910 a year (bls.gov, May 2025 data, accessed September 2026). Freelance rates sit above that to cover their own overhead. Best when the work needs judgment and continuity and the volume is low.

An in-house hire costs the salary plus employer overhead and gives you full context and no cap on active requests. Best above a steady, permanent workload. Worst when demand is lumpy, because you pay for the trough. Agencies carrying several client brands hit a third version of this, covered in creative for multiple clients.

A subscription buys a slot. Best for unpredictable, varied, low-to-medium volume work where you value not managing anyone. The four ways to buy design work, side by side, are in how to outsource graphic design.

Generating the assets yourself removes the queue, and that is the real difference. No designer works through your requests one at a time. A 40-item set is limited by run time, by how many runs your plan allows at once and by how fast you can review. DesignerBox inverts the model: you build the job once with your brand and your products, then run that same job again on the rest of the catalog. We make DesignerBox, so read this as our own case.

The full workflow from the first product photo to the finished ad, in one subscription. Product shots, on-model images, video and ad frames sit in one place, and the standard on row two hundred is the standard you set on row one.

The limits are worth stating. Uploading your own photos and the commercial license start on the Pro plan. AI video, virtual try-on, upscaling, the image editor and the video editor start on the Premium plan. Team features, shared brand kits and white label are on the Ultra plan, and every plan below Ultra is one seat. Plans and credits are on the pricing page.

The trade is real in both directions. A subscription gives you a person who makes the judgment call. Generating gives you speed and volume, and the judgment call stays yours. Most teams running catalog volume need the second, and most teams running a handful of considered pieces a month need the first.

Which one fits your work?

Three questions settle it.

  1. What is your largest single batch? If the answer is more than five items in a week, count the slots before you count the price.
  2. How predictable is the volume? Steady and high favors a hire. Lumpy and unpredictable favors a subscription or generating in-house.
  3. How much of the work is judgment, and how much is production? Judgment work wants a person. Production work, meaning resizes, variants, backgrounds and catalog fill, is where the queue costs you most and where a reusable workflow pays back fastest.

A common setup is two of the three, not one: a subscription or a freelancer for the considered work, and something that removes the queue for the repeatable half.

FAQ

What does an unlimited graphic design service cost per month?

It runs from one self-serve slot to a dedicated managed team, and the gap between those two ends is about 150 times. Awesomic publishes the cheapest entry plan here, at one active task. Penji and Superside both publish a starting figure for a managed team, and Superside also publishes a minimum monthly spend on a 12-month term. Design Pickle quotes on a call. Read each figure on the vendor’s own page, on the day (vendor pricing pages, September 2026).

Does unlimited really mean unlimited?

You can submit unlimited requests. The service works on one or two at a time, and the rest queue. Every provider publishes this as an “active requests”, “workstreams” or “daily output” figure on the pricing page. That number, not the word unlimited, sets how much you receive in a month.

How many designs will I actually get in a month?

Multiply the active-request cap by the working days in the month, assuming you keep the queue full. One slot with next-day delivery is about 21 items. Two slots is about 42. If you file fewer briefs than that, you receive fewer items and the cost per item rises, because the fee buys the slot rather than the output.

Is a design subscription cheaper than a freelancer?

Volume decides it. At full utilization, one daily slot spreads the monthly fee over about 21 items. Divide the fee on the vendor’s page by 21, and compare the result with a freelancer’s quote for the same asset. At half utilization the same fee buys half the items, so the cost per item roughly doubles. A freelancer bills only for work done, so low or irregular volume often favors the freelancer.

Is annual billing worth it?

The published discounts are 15 to 20 percent. ManyPixels shows a yearly rate against its monthly one, and Awesomic shows 20 percent off on quarterly terms with a three-month minimum (manypixels.co/pricing and awesomic.com/pricing, September 2026). The discount is real, and the trade is that a cancel-anytime service becomes a commitment. Take it only after a month on the monthly rate.

Why do review sites list different prices?

Prices change without announcement and old figures persist in search results. In September 2026, several roundups listed a figure for Penji’s entry plan that Penji’s own page did not show. Read the vendor’s page on the day, and check whether the figure quoted is the monthly rate or the annual rate.

What happens to the files when I cancel?

This varies by provider and is worth reading before you sign. ManyPixels publishes full copyright transfer and native source files on all plans. For any other provider, read its terms for whether you receive editable source files or only flattened exports, and for how long the work stays available after cancellation. The clauses to check are what you own when your process lives inside a tool.

Sources

  • Awesomic pricing (awesomic.com/pricing, accessed September 2026)
  • ManyPixels pricing (manypixels.co/pricing, accessed September 2026)
  • Penji pricing (penji.co/pricing, accessed September 2026)
  • Flocksy pricing (flocksy.com/pricing, accessed September 2026)
  • Superside pricing (superside.com/pricing, accessed September 2026)
  • Design Pickle pricing (designpickle.com/pricing, accessed September 2026)
  • US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook, Graphic Designers (bls.gov, May 2025 data, accessed September 2026)

Active-request caps, turnaround times and billing terms verified from each provider’s own pricing page as of September 2026. No provider price is printed here, because these pages change without notice. Individual results vary.

Vytas

Vytas

Founder at DesignerBox

Vytas is a founder at DesignerBox. He writes about turning creative work a team repeats every week into a system: how a job gets built once, run across a whole catalog, and reviewed in one pass.

Follow along on Instagram at @designerboxai for campaign breakdowns.

Scale your content with AI. Keep your brand.

Build the job once with your brand and your products. Run it on your whole catalog, and see the cost before each run.

One workflow for every product. You see the cost before each run.