Skip to main content

Buyer guide

Best AI product photography tools

Nine tools for brands and agencies that shoot product stills. We checked cutouts, scene backgrounds, batch limits, watermark rules and API access on each vendor's own pricing page. We print no prices, and we link to each page instead.

Last updated

Short answer

Photoroom is the best AI product photography tool for most teams. Its pricing page bills background removal and image editing per image, and its plans are sized in exports, so a large catalogue stays predictable. DesignerBox suits teams that also need on-model shots, because one workspace covers stills, models and ads. Video starts on the Premium plan. Pixelcut is the simplest route to clean cutouts, and its free exports carry no watermark.

Photoroom is the only tool in this guide that bills its API per image, which is what matters once you pass a few hundred products each month. Its plans are sold in exports: 1,000, 3,000 or 10,000 each month.

DesignerBox is second because it replaces three subscriptions with one. It loses to Photoroom on cutout track record at high volume, and its API only opens on the Ultra plan.

If you only need cutouts and a clean background, pick a smaller tool. Pixelcut's Pro plan includes 1,000 batch exports each month, and its free exports carry no watermark.

The list at a glance

Video and API access as read on each vendor's own pricing page on 12 August 2026. Where a vendor states nothing, the table says so instead of guessing.

#ToolVideoAPIBest for
1PhotoroomLimitedYesSellers who need cutouts at high volume and an API for the catalogue
2DesignerBoxThis is usYes (Premium plan)Yes (Ultra plan)Sellers who want stills, on-model shots and video in one workspace
3PixelcutNot statedYesSmall shops that need simple cutouts and background swaps
4Flair.aiLimitedYesSellers who want to art direct each scene instead of picking a preset
5PebblelyNot statedNot statedSellers with a small catalogue who want scenes without a learning curve
6Mokker AINot statedYesTeams who want a seat each and one shared set of templates
7BotikaLimitedNot statedClothing sellers who need on-model shots without booking a model
8VmakeYesYesSellers who want to test product scenes daily before paying
9PippitYesNot statedSellers who want product stills and short ad videos in one plan

Where we could not confirm a feature, the table says "Not stated" rather than "No". The table shows no prices. Each tool links to the seller's own pricing page.

The 9 tools, ranked

Ranked on published limits, published quotas and API access.

Rank 1:PhotoroomCategory winner

Strengths

  • Photoroom publishes two APIs: a Remove Background API and an Image Editing API. You can wire cutouts into your own catalogue pipeline.
  • Plans are sized in exports, not in vague usage. Pro gives 1,000 exports each month, Max gives 3,000 and Ultra gives 10,000.
  • The API has a free sandbox. You get 1,000 sandbox calls each month on the Image Editing API, with watermarked results.
  • Shopify integration is included on the Max and Ultra plans.

Limitations

  • Video Generator is not on the Pro plan. It starts on Max.
  • Shopify integration is not in the Pro plan. You need Max or above to get it.
  • Export resolution is capped at 2K on most tiers. 4K needs the Ultra plan.
DesignerBox vs PhotoroomPhotoroom pricing

Rank 2:DesignerBoxThis is us

Strengths

  • One workspace covers cutouts, scene backgrounds, on-model shots and product video, so you do not need four separate subscriptions.
  • The commercial licence starts on the Pro plan.
  • You set brand rules for colour, background and framing once, and the workflow applies them across a whole catalogue.
  • The free plan lets you try the templates before you pay.

Limitations

  • The phone app is for iPhone. Everything else runs in the browser.
  • DesignerBox is newer than Photoroom and less proven at pure cutout edge quality at high volume.
  • The free plan adds a watermark, and your own photo uploads start on the Pro plan. API access is on the Ultra plan only.
Made with AI
DesignerBox pricing

Rank 3:Pixelcut

Strengths

  • Pro includes 600 AI credits plus 1,000 batch exports each month.
  • Background removal and upscaling are unlimited on both paid plans.
  • The API bills per credit. A background removal costs 5 credits.
  • The free plan exports without a watermark.

Limitations

  • Batch exports are capped at 1,000 each month on Pro and 2,000 each month on Business.
  • The free plan limits how many background removals and upscales you get.
  • Team size is capped at 3 people on Pro and 10 people on Business.
Pixelcut pricing

Rank 4:Flair.ai

Strengths

  • You place the product, the props and the lights on a canvas, so you set the layout instead of picking a preset.
  • Virtual try-on, upscale and extend are listed as separate editing tools on the same canvas.
  • There is a free plan, and the pricing page labels it Forever.
  • Paid tiers add video generations on top of the still images.

Limitations

  • The product photography API is early access on the Scale tier. Enterprise is the only plan with unlimited API access.
  • Image quotas are small. Pro+ lists 80 generated images each month and Scale lists 150.
  • The pricing page does not state a watermark policy for the free plan.
DesignerBox vs Flair.aiFlair.ai pricing

Rank 5:Pebblely

Strengths

  • Lite includes 30 images each month. Basic includes 200. Pro includes 500.
  • More than 40 background themes ship with the tool.
  • Bulk generate is included on the Basic plan and above.
  • Custom prompts are on every paid plan, including Lite.

Limitations

  • The Lite plan has no bulk generate. You need the Basic plan to run batches.
  • Image quotas are fixed at 30, 200 or 500 each month. There is no unlimited tier.
  • The pricing page does not mention an API, so plan for manual work rather than automation.
DesignerBox vs PebblelyPebblely pricing

Rank 6:Mokker AI

Strengths

  • The page lists three plans: Starter for one person, Team per user, and Organization from 5 seats.
  • A free test gives you 20 photos once, with full studio and template access.
  • Team is priced per user and includes 500 photos each month.
  • Organization offers unlimited photos, priced per user.

Limitations

  • Team and Organization are priced per user, so a five person team pays for five seats.
  • Organization starts at 5 seats, so the smallest bill on that plan is five seats.
  • The free test is one time only. It is not a monthly free allowance.
Mokker AI pricing

Rank 7:Botika

Strengths

  • The page prices each photo at 1 credit and each video at 5 credits, so the cost per asset is clear.
  • The tool is built for clothing sellers who need a model wearing the item.
  • Pro is the plan the page marks most popular, and it adds the full model and background libraries.
  • A free trial is offered before you commit.

Limitations

  • The pricing page lists yearly plans only, so you commit for a year.
  • Credit allowances are stated per year rather than for each month, so a heavy month needs top ups.
  • Enterprise pricing is not published. You have to contact sales.
DesignerBox vs BotikaBotika pricing

Rank 8:Vmake

Strengths

  • The free plan gives 20 credits a day, so you can test the tool without paying.
  • Plus includes 1,000 credits each month and Pro includes 4,500 credits each month.
  • Paid plans remove the watermark and include commercial use.
  • The pricing page also lists video generation alongside the image features.

Limitations

  • The free plan adds a watermark and limits both the features and the AI models you can use.
  • Free credits expire after one day, so they do not build up.
  • The pricing page does not print a price for Plus or Pro, so you cannot compare cost before you sign up.
Vmake pricing

Rank 9:Pippit

Strengths

  • The free plan keeps a watermark until you pay.
  • The pricing page lists Starter, Plus and Pro tiers above the free plan.
  • Paid tiers remove the watermark and generate faster.
  • Credits arrive daily, so you get a fresh allowance rather than one monthly pool.

Limitations

  • The free plan adds a watermark to results. You need a paid tier to remove it.
  • The pricing page prints euro, so the price you see in another country may differ.
  • Pro is a large step up from Plus, so check the quota on each plan card before you choose.
Pippit pricing

Start with your catalogue size. Under 200 images each month, an entry plan with a fixed image quota is enough. Flair and Pebblely both sell small fixed quotas, and Flair has a free plan to test first. Above 1,000 images each month, compare export limits and API billing before feature lists. Photoroom sells 1,000, 3,000 and 10,000 exports per tier and bills background removal per image. Next, decide what you need beyond a cutout. Clothing sellers need on-model results, which Botika and DesignerBox produce. Cutout tools cover the product itself. DesignerBox API access needs the Ultra plan. Last, check the seat model. Mokker charges per user on its team plans, so a five person team pays for five seats.

Compare cost in three places, and read the numbers on each vendor's own pricing page, linked under every tool below. First, what one image costs. Most plans sell a monthly image or credit quota, not unlimited results, so divide the plan by the quota before you compare headline prices. Check whether the cost shows before you start a run. DesignerBox shows the credit cost of a run before you start it. Second, per image or per seat. Photoroom and Pixelcut bill their APIs per image or per credit, so the cost follows your volume. Mokker bills its team plans per user, so the bill follows your team size. Third, the free tier. Pixelcut's free exports carry no watermark, Vmake gives free credits each day with a watermark, and the DesignerBox free plan adds a watermark to results. Test your hardest product before you pay. On DesignerBox, your own photo uploads start on the Pro plan.

We ranked on three things a buyer can check: the plan structure on the vendor's own page, the published quotas, and the API. For the API, we checked whether it is documented and how the vendor charges for it. Photoroom wins because its pricing page sets the API cost per image and sells plans by exports. DesignerBox is second because one workspace covers stills and on-model shots, and video starts on the Premium plan. DesignerBox loses on three counts. Its phone app is for iPhone only. It is newer than Photoroom and less proven at cutout edge quality at high volume. Its API needs the Ultra plan, and its free plan adds a watermark to results.

How we build these guides

A guide written by one of the sellers in it is only worth reading if it shows its working. Here is ours.

We rank on what you can check

We take plan limits, quotas, watermark rules and what each tool is for from the seller's own site. Any line about image quality is our own opinion.

We read plan details at the source

We read which plan includes each feature on the seller's own site, and we show the date we checked. We do not print prices, because a price changes the day a seller edits a page. Every guide links to each seller's pricing page instead.

We say when we do not know

If we cannot confirm something, the guide says "Not stated". We do not turn a missing answer into a missing feature. A tool is only marked as lacking something when the seller's own site says so.

We rank ourselves in the middle

DesignerBox appears in every guide and is first in none of them. Each guide names another tool as its winner. This rule is checked by our build, so it cannot be quietly changed.

Common questions

What is the best AI product photography tool?
Photoroom is the best AI product photography tool for most teams. Its pricing page bills background removal and image editing per image, and it sells plans by exports rather than by vague usage. DesignerBox is the better fit when you also need on-model shots in the same workspace. Video starts on the Premium plan. Pixelcut is the simplest route to clean cutouts, and its free exports carry no watermark.
How do I compare the cost of AI product photography tools?
Read each vendor's own pricing page, linked under every tool on this page. We print no prices, because they change often. Compare three things instead. First, the quota. Entry plans include a fixed number of images or credits each month, not unlimited results, so work out the cost per image. Second, the seat model. Mokker bills its team plans per user, so the cost grows with the team. Third, the API. Photoroom bills API use per image on top of the plan. DesignerBox API access needs the Ultra plan.
Can AI product photos replace a studio photoshoot?
For cutouts, flat lays and simple scene backgrounds, these tools can replace much of the studio work. A product on a white background is a repeatable job. Studio work still wins for highly reflective surfaces, for hero campaign images, and for anything a buyer will zoom into. Some sellers use AI for the catalogue and a photographer for their top products.
Which tool is best for a large product catalogue?
Photoroom. It is the only tool in this guide that bills its API per image, with separate rates for background removal and image editing. Its plans reach 10,000 exports each month. Pixelcut bills its API per credit, and one background removal costs 5 credits. Pebblely caps images at 500 each month, so it does not suit a large catalogue.
Is this guide biased because DesignerBox publishes it?
DesignerBox publishes this guide, so read the ranking with that in mind. We put Photoroom first because it bills its API per image and sells export sized plans, which DesignerBox does not match. We list our own weaknesses in the table too. The free plan adds a watermark, and the API needs the Ultra plan. We have less proof than Photoroom at cutout quality across large catalogues.
Do these tools offer an API for bulk product images?
Photoroom, Pixelcut, Flair and Mokker publish an API. Photoroom bills per image, with separate rates for background removal and editing. Pixelcut bills per credit, and one background removal costs 5 credits. Flair puts its product photography API in early access on the Scale tier, with unlimited API access on Enterprise. DesignerBox opens its API only on the Ultra plan. Pebblely, Botika and Vmake state no API pricing on their pricing pages.
Which free plans do not put a watermark on the results?
Pixelcut states that free exports carry no watermark, which is rare in this group. Flair offers a plan it labels Forever, but its pricing page states no watermark policy. Vmake gives 20 free credits a day and adds a watermark. Pippit's free plan keeps a watermark until you pay. The DesignerBox free plan also adds a watermark to results, and paid plans remove it.
Which tools can make on-model clothing photos?
Botika and DesignerBox produce on-model apparel photos. DesignerBox includes on-model templates in the same workspace as stills. DesignerBox virtual try-on and video start on the Premium plan. Cutout tools such as Pixelcut focus on the product itself, though Photoroom's pricing page lists a virtual model endpoint.

Vendor pricing pages

We print no prices. Each link below opens the seller's own pricing page and shows the date we last read it.

Who it is for

Does that sound like you?

Scaling without compromising quality.

Anyone can make an AI picture. Making hundreds that still look like your brand is the hard part. You want to create more content for your organic socials and paid ads without spending your entire ad budget on content creation, and without compromising your brand's quality or reputation.

How we solve it:
  • Generate images and video clips with AI
  • AI workflows like changing models, clothes and scenes
  • Editing videos into fully animated ads and reels
The dress on a model, front and back, in a studio

Scale content without limits.

Generate content for your products or services with AI, starting today, and keep your brand on every piece.